TSAVLIRIS SALVAGE GROUP - News & Announcements

CYMEPA Wins the CYPRUS MARITIME PRIZE 2007 - 2007 Sep 25

On Sunday 23 September 2007 H.E The Minister of Communications and Works Mrs. Maria Malahtou - Pamballi presented the Cyprus Maritime Prize 2007 to CYMEPA (Cyprus Marine Environment Protection Association). The Selection Committee unanimously decided to award the Prize to CYMEPA on account of the Association"s "enormous contribution towards the protection of the environment and the prevention of marine pollution".

Upon receiving the Prize CYMEPA President George Tsavliris made reference to the creation of CYMEPA 15 years ago by Stelios Haji-ioannou and his fellow co-founders. He thanked the staff of the Association for their dedication and enthusiasm and in particular the Secretary General Dr Michael Ierides whom he described as "the heart and soul of CYMEPA". He proceeded by making reference to the continued support received from HELMEPA (Hellenic Marine Environment Protection Association) Director General, Capt. Dimitris Mitsatsos and the cooperation between the two Associations within the framework of the newly-established International Marine Environment Protection Association (INTERMEPA). Finally he thanked the Minister and the Members of the Selection Committee and pledged to keep up the good work for the sake of the marine environment.

The Prize giving ceremony took place at the opening of the Maritime Cyprus 2007 Conference. NEW BOARD OF DIRECTORS AT CYMEPA! On 24 September 2007 the Annual General Meeting of CYMEPA took place at CYMEPA House in the presence of H.E the Minister of Communications and Works Mrs Maria Malahtou-Pamballi, the Mayor of Limassol, the Director General of HELMEPA and INTERMEPA, a representative from TURMEPA and other dignitaries. The Meeting among other items, approved the report of the Directors and the audited accounts for the year ending on 31st December, 2006 and elected the Directors of the Association.

The new Board consists of the following: George Tsavliris, Eugen Adami, Themis Papadopoulos, Andreas Droussiotis, Stelios Haji-ioannou, Clelia Haji-ioannou, George Petrou, Zenon Mouskas, Andreas Xapolytos, Minos Kyriakou, Michael Maratheftis, Michael Timotheou, Yiannis Telonis, Artemis Pantelidou and Costas Lanitis, During the Meeting 4 Directors were honoured for participating at he Board for all the 15 years since the inception of CYMEPA. These are : Stelios Haji-ioannou George Tsavliris, Adonis Papadopoulos and Minos Kyriakou.

The INTERMEPA Short Film Competition First Prize for Cyprus was awarded to Irineos Livadiotis from the Grammar School, Nicosia.