TSAVLIRIS SALVAGE GROUP - News & Announcements

Lloyd's List Greek Shipping Awards 2017 - 2017 Nov 25

TSAVLIRIS SALVAGE sponsored for the 13th consecutive year the Lloyd's List Greek Shipping Awards which were presented at a successful dinner event on Friday 24 November 2017 at the Athenaeum InterContinental Hotel in Athens.

The "Seafarer of the Year" Award is one which Tsavliris Salvage Group is honoured and proud to sponsor.

George A. Tsavliris presented the "Seafarer of the Year" Award to Captain Iakovos Papageorgiou Daniil, a Master
of 15 years experience, who rescued a shipwrecked crew of eight in the Indian Ocean in June 2016 when in command of the Diana Containerships-owned vessel 'Hamburg' en route to Singapore. Capt Daniil diverted his vessel and successfully found the men's life-raft 300 miles off the coast of Oman in a region where merchant ships are at risk from pirates.

Lloyd's List once again held an impressive event attended by record 1,200 shipping personalities, executives and guests. Nigel Lowry, Greece's Lloyd's List correspondent and director of the Greek Shipping Awards together with Andriana Paraskevopoulou, journalist, were excellent co-hosts of the event and provided great entertainment.

The Awards are held annually to recognise and reward achievement and meritorious activity in the Greek shipping industry as well as to promote Greece's status as a maritime centre. Winners are chosen by an independent panel of judges representing a broad cross-section of the Greek shipping industry.



Dry Cargo Company of the Year

Carras (Hellas)


Tanker Company of the Year

Maran Tankers Management


Passenger Line of the Year

Golden Star Ferries


Shipbroker of the Year

Masters Shipping


Shipping Financier of the Year

Christina Margelou


Technical Achievement Award

NanoPhos Marine


Achievement in Safety or Environmental Protection

Panos Zachariadis


Piraeus International Centre Award

Naftika Chronika


International Personality of the Year

Captain Fu Chengqiu


Seafarer of the Year

Capt. Iakovos Daniil


Achievement in Education or Training

Maria Tsakos TCM Training Centre


Ship of the Year

"Georgios Averof"


Next Generation Shipping Award

Ioannis Martinos


Lloyd's List Intelligence Big Data Award



Lloyd's List/Propeller Club Lifetime Achievement Award

Pavlos J. Ioannidis


Greek Shipping Newsmaker of the Year

John Michael Radziwill


Greek Shipping Personality of the Year

Evangelos M. Marinakis