TSAVLIRIS SALVAGE GROUP - News & Announcements

Lloyd's List Greek Shipping Awards 2016 - 2016 Dec 05

TSAVLIRIS SALVAGE sponsored for the 12th consecutive year the Lloyd's List Greek Shipping Awards which were presented at a successful dinner event on Friday 2 December 2016 at the Athenaeum InterContinental Hotel in Athens.

The "Seafarer of the Year" Award is one which Tsavliris Salvage Group is honoured and proud to sponsor.

Natalia Tsavliris - Vasilopoulos presented the "Seafarer of the Year" Award to Captain Diamantis Papageorgiou, master of Hellenic Seaways ferry "Nissos Rodos". The master has commanded more than 50 ferries so far in his career and has garnered a reputation as a go-to master for vessels on some of the most difficult routes serving small, poorly equipped ports.

Lloyd's List once again held an impressive event attended by record 1,200 shipping personalities, executives and guests. Nigel Lowry, Greece's Lloyd's List correspondent and director of the Greek Shipping Awards together with Andriana Paraskevopoulou, journalist, were excellent co-hosts of the event and provided great entertainment.

The Awards are held annually to recognise and reward achievement and meritorious activity in the Greek shipping industry as well as to promote Greece's status as a maritime centre. Winners are chosen by an independent panel of judges representing a broad cross-section of the Greek shipping industry.



-Greek Shipping Personality of the Year

Panos Laskaridis

-Seafarer of the Year

Capt. Diamantis Papageorgiou

-Dry Cargo Company of the Year

Samos Steamship Co.

-Tanker Company of the Year


-Passenger Line of the Year

Minoan Lines

-Shipbroker of the Year

Carriers Chartering Corporation

-Shipping Financier of the Year

National Bank of Greece

-Technical Achievement Award

Vassilis Papageorgiou

-Achievement in Safety or Environmental Protection

Helmepa Junior

-Piraeus International Centre Award


-International Personality of the Year

Peter Hinchliffe

-Achievement in Education or Training

Eugenides Foundation

-Ship of the Year

Maria Energy

-Next Generation Shipping Award

Stavroula Betsakou

-Lloyd's List Intelligence Big Data Award

Moore Stephens

-Lloyd's List/Propeller Club Lifetime Achievement Award

Nicos D Efthymiou

-Greek Shipping Newsmaker of the Year

Polys Hajioannou