TSAVLIRIS SALVAGE GROUP - News & Announcements

Propeller Club: Special Award to N. Tsavliris - 2016 Nov 04

On the occasion of the celebration of 80 years of the Piraeus Branch of the Propeller Club, special awards were presented to Past Presidents for their contribution to the growth of the Club.

The ceremony took place during the annual Amver Awards on 31 October 2016.

Mr Nicolas Tsavliris who served as President of the Propeller Club from 2007 to 2009 said: "The existence of the International Propeller Club of the United States, International Port of Piraeus, makes us all proud. I feel privileged to have served as President for two years, from 2007 to 2009. I am confident that the Club will continue with its great work - and I wish it every success in the future. From my present position I remain devoted to its mission, aims and values".

An outstanding world record number of more than 1,700 Greek-owned oceangoing vessels managed by more than 170 Greek shipping companies picked up awards and were honoured during this year's ceremony recognising their participation in the programme launched by the US Coast Guard (USCG) 58 years ago and aiming at saving life at sea.

Mr George Xiradakis, president of The International Propeller Club of United States of America - Port of Piraeus explained that the International Propeller Club of the United States was founded in New York in 1922, has now 8,000 members in 52 cities around the world. The Piraeus Branch, founded in 1936, is the oldest international organisation in the Piraeus cluster.

The club co-operates with the Shipping ministry, the UGS, the Hellenic Chamber of Shipping (HCS), and other shipping clubs in the Greek shipping cluster as well as the US Embassy in Athens, to promote maritime, commerce and cultural relations between citizens of Greece, the US and all other countries represented by their members.

The Piraeus Propeller Club in cooperation with the US Embassy and the USCG annually organises the Amver Awards Ceremonies, one of the biggest events of the Greek shipping year.